by emma last modified Apr 02, 2015 03:07 PM

Church timeline

by emma last modified Apr 02, 2015 03:07 PM
Church timeline

Historic image of Trinity with horse and cart

1829-1959 - A place of worship

  • 22 September 1829 - the foundation stone of the Holy Trinity Church was laid on by Lord Mayor John Cave
  • 1829-1832 - The church was built by Thomas Rickman and Henry Hutchinson, two architects from Birmingham, who also designed the piers, perimeter walls and railings
  • 1882 - Later works were carried out on the building circa John Bevan and in 1905 by William Venn Gough
  • April 1927 - The original bells and fittings were replaced with new ones
  • March 15-16 1941 - The church was hit by an incendiary device causing damage to trusses, which were repaired in September of the same year
  • 24 July 1946 - The Church received payment from the War Damages Commission
  • 8 January 1959 - The building was included in the list for protected buildings in Bristol by the Ministry for Housing and Local Government

1960-1969 - Last decade as the Holy Trinity Church

  • A series of expensive repair works were identified in this time period - including cleaning to stonework and essential repairs to roof timbers
  • 1964 - Major repairs to steelwork were carried out
  • 1968 - A rapidly dwindling congregation and lack of money led to the church to explore avenues for redundancy

1970-1976 - From church to community centre

  • 16 November 1970 a formal application for redundancy began
  • 20 March 1976 - The last wedding at the Holy Trinity Church was carried out
  • 6 April 1976 - The church was subsequently declared redundant
  • Local leaders looking to ease tensions amongst African-Caribbean communities campaigned for Trinity to be given to the public, for use as a community centre, with a focus on activities for young people
Document Actions